The Andy Griffith Show

The Andy Griffith Show

Oct. 03, 1960
Your rating: 0
10 1 vote



Andy Griffith isAndy Taylor
Andy Taylor
Ron Howard isOpie Taylor
Opie Taylor
Frances Bavier isAunt Bee Taylor
Aunt Bee Taylor

Video trailer


The Andy Griffith Show is an American sitcom first televised on CBS between October 3, 1960 and April 1, 1968. Andy Griffith portrays the widowed sheriff of the fictional small community of Mayberry, North Carolina. His life is complicated by an inept, but well-meaning deputy, Barney Fife, a spinster aunt and housekeeper, Aunt Bee, and a precocious young son, Opie. Local ne’er-do-wells, bumbling pals, and temperamental girlfriends further complicate his life. Andy Griffith stated in a Today Show interview, with respect to the time period of the show: “Well, though we never said it, and though it was shot in the ’60s, it had a feeling of the ’30s. It was when we were doing it, of a time gone by.” The series never placed lower than seventh in the Nielsen ratings and ended its final season at number one. It has been ranked by TV Guide as the 9th-best show in American television history. Though neither Griffith nor the show won awards during its eight-season run, series co-stars Knotts and Bavier accumulated a combined total of six Emmy Awards. The show, a semi-spin-off from an episode of The Danny Thomas Show titled “Danny Meets Andy Griffith”, spawned its own spin-off series, Gomer Pyle, U.S.M.C., a sequel series, Mayberry R.F.D., and a reunion telemovie, Return to Mayberry. The show’s enduring popularity has generated a good deal of show-related merchandise. Reruns currently air on TV Land, and the complete series is available on DVD. All eight seasons are also now available by streaming video services such as Netflix. ~ The Andy Griffith Show storyline

The Andy Griffith Show
The Andy Griffith Show
Original title The Andy Griffith Show
TMDb Rating 7.63 123 votes
First air date Oct. 03, 1960
Last air date Apr. 01, 1968
Seasons 8
Episodes 249
Average Duration 25 minutes

Similar titles

The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air
Only Fools and Horses
Sanford and Son
It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia
House of Cards
How I Met Your Mother
Rurouni Kenshin
‘Allo ‘Allo!
Modern Family
Northern Exposure
SpongeBob SquarePants